seeberg-ESG

Digital financing solutions for the real estate industry

The wave of digitalisation has also reached the real estate industry with full force. Along the entire value chain, from planning and development through construction to the use and management of properties, innovative companies are creating digital solutions that are taking the industry step by step into the future. Digital innovators can solve several problems at once: they can reduce costs, speed up processes, increase the transparency of transactions as well as contribute to environmental protection. While this development is already in full swing, the possibilities are by no means exhausted. By combining different solutions, additional synergies can be created. This also applies to real estate financing. Companies like hypcloud can make a valuable contribution here.

ESG, EU taxonomy, BASEL III: Regulation as a driver of innovation

Like many other sectors, the real estate industry is in the middle of a major structural change. Various factors are intertwined in this process.

The megatopic ESG - short for Environmental, Social, Governance - is of paramount importance for the real estate industry. In order to achieve the climate protection goals set by the legislator, the real estate industry has a key role to play. This is a great opportunity, after all, the demand for more sustainability will lead to higher investments. On the one hand, investments in the climate-friendly conversion of the real estate stock require enormous funds, which act like an economic engine for the industry. The additional need for financing thus creates room for more providers on the market.

We also note that the financing conditions for green real estate and non-green real estate are increasingly developing differently. From a financing perspective, it is also clear: the future is green. New groups of investors and lenders can be accessed more easily via digital financing platforms such as hypcloud, and capital can thus be mobilised more easily than by analogue means. In terms of transparency, it is also important to adapt to current regulatory requirements. One of the declared goals of the EU taxonomy is to increase the transparency of financial transactions. At the same time, a shift can be observed in the market. Commercial banks and professional investors such as insurance companies traditionally dominate the segment of commercial real estate and project financing.

At the same time, a shift can be observed in the market. Commercial banks and professional investors such as insurance companies traditionally dominate the segment of commercial real estate and project financing.

However, many banks want to reduce their exposure, not least because of stricter capital adequacy requirements in the wake of BASEL III. This development opens the door even wider for alternative financiers such as insurance companies, pension funds, large family offices and credit funds. These players can act much more flexibly than banks, as they are not subject to the same regulatory framework. As new or emerging players, they are also fundamentally open to innovative solutions.

Digitalisation of the financing x project development interface

The framework conditions for the digital transformation in real estate financing are therefore favourable: the interplay of rapid technological progress, especially cloud technology, and regulatory changes acts as an innovation accelerator for the industry. It is therefore not surprising that new players with innovative solutions have positioned themselves along the entire value chain in recent years, including hypcloud. As a financing platform, hypcloud offers the entire financing structure from equity investments, mezzanine and subordinated financing to classic bank financing from a single source. 

Things are also happening in the area of securitisation. For example, the trend in B2B real estate financing is increasingly moving away from bilateral contracts and towards new forms such as tokenisation, which significantly increases the circle of potential lenders and forms the backbone for a new market infrastructure. Technical solutions for this already exist. Borrowers, e.g. project developers, can submit their financing request in simple steps, granting all relevant parties such as appraisers, architects or lawyers access to the shared data room so that all parties involved always work on the basis of the latest data.

The next step is to combine individual solutions in order to offer users better access and added value. For this reason, hypcloud is currently working on cooperations with platforms that offer market data or construction monitoring. By combining these strengths and working together in the cloud, all aspects of project financing can be centrally monitored and processed. Last but not least, the integration of construction monitoring can identify financing risks earlier and thus increase financing security. This cloud-based collaboration also saves considerable time and fulfils the goal of the EU taxonomy to create more transparency in financial transactions.

However, transparency is not only a desirable asset for regulators. Market participants also benefit from knowing where the review of a financing request currently stands or hangs and where materials or information are still missing. Collaboration in the cloud offers great potential to accelerate coordination processes or, if necessary, to invite other required parties to the round. This leads to a significant increase in process efficiency.

Outlook

While the digital transformation is progressing inexorably, there are still numerous hurdles in the present, as the latest ZIA-Digitalisierungsstudie also proves. For example, the heterogeneity of data is still a problem. However, the study also shows that more and more companies are coming to a realistic assessment of their digital maturity. This finding makes us optimistic that the real estate industry is capable of continuing to deliver digital solutions with concrete added value that make business more efficient, transparent and sustainable.

Author

Michael Seeberg
CEO / Managing Director hypcloud

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

seeberg-ESG

Digitale Finanzierungslösungen für die Immobilienwirtschaft

Die Digitalisierungswelle hat auch die Immobilienwirtschaft mit voller Kraft erreicht. Entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette, von Planung und Entwicklung über den Bau bis hin zur Nutzung und Bewirtschaftung der Objekte, schaffen innovative Unternehmen digitale Lösungen, die die Branche Schritt für Schritt in die Zukunft bringen. Digitale Innovatoren können gleich mehrere Probleme lösen: sie können Kosten senken, Prozesse beschleunigen, die Transparenz von Transaktionen erhöhen sowie einen Beitrag zum Umweltschutz leisten. Während diese Entwicklung bereits in vollem Gange ist, sind die Möglichkeiten beileibe noch nicht ausgeschöpft. Durch Kombination verschiedener Lösungen ergeben sich zusätzliche Synergien. Dies gilt auch für die Immobilienfinanzierung. Unternehmen wie hypcloud können hierbei einen wertvollen Beitrag leisten.

ESG, EU-Taxonomie, BASEL III: Regulatorik als Innovationstreiber

Wie viele andere Branchen befindet sich auch die Immobilienwirtschaft mitten in einem großen Strukturwandel. Verschiedene Faktoren greifen hierbei ineinander.

Das Megathema ESG – kurz für Environmental, Social, Governance – ist für die Immobilienbranche von überragender Bedeutung. Um die vom Gesetzgeber vorgegebenen Ziele für den Klimaschutz zu erreichen, kommt der Immobilienwirtschaft eine Schlüsselrolle zu. Hierin liegt eine große Chance, schließlich wird die Nachfrage nach mehr Nachhaltigkeit zu höheren Investitionen führen. Zum einen erfordern die Investitionen in den klimagerechten Umbau des Immobilienbestandes enorme Mittel, die wie ein Konjunkturmotor für die Branche wirken. Der zusätzliche Finanzierungsbedarf schafft somit Raum für weitere Anbieter auf dem Markt.

Außerdem stellen wir fest, dass sich die Finanzierungsbedingungen für grüne Immobilien und nicht-grüne Immobilien zunehmend unterschiedlich entwickeln. Auch aus der Finanzierungsperspektive ist klar: die Zukunft ist grün. Neue Investoren- und Kreditgeberkreise lassen sich über digitale Finanzierungsplattformen wie hypcloud leichter erschließen, Kapital somit leichter mobilisieren als auf analogem Wege. Auch in Sachen Transparenz gilt es, sich aktuellen regulatorischen Erfordernissen anzupassen. So ist es eines der erklärten Ziele der EU-Taxonomie, die Transparenz von Finanztransaktionen zu erhöhen.

Gleichzeitig lässt sich eine Verschiebung auf dem Markt beobachten. Geschäftsbanken und professionelle Investoren wie Versicherungen dominieren traditionell das Segment der gewerblichen Immobilien- und Projektfinanzierung.

Viele Banken wollen ihr Engagement jedoch reduzieren, nicht zuletzt aufgrund strengerer Vorgaben zum Eigenkapital im Zuge von BASEL III. Diese Entwicklung öffnet das Tor für alternative Finanzierer wie Versicherungen, Pensionskassen, große Family Offices und Kreditfonds noch weiter. Diese Akteure können viel flexibler agieren als Banken, da sie nicht den gleichen regulatorischen Rahmenbedingungen unterliegen. Als neue bzw. aufstrebende Player sind sie innovativen Lösungen zudem grundsätzlich aufgeschlossen.

Digitalisierung der Schnittstelle Finanzierung x Projektentwicklungen

Die Rahmenbedingungen für den digitalen Wandel in der Immobilienfinanzierung sind also günstig: das Zusammenspiel von rasantem technologischem Fortschritt, insbesondere der Cloud-Technologie, und regulatorischen Veränderungen wirkt wie ein Innovationsbeschleuniger für die Branche. Es ist daher nicht überraschend, dass sich entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette in den letzten Jahren neue Akteure mit innovativen Lösungen positioniert haben, darunter auch hypcloud. Als Finanzierungsplattform bietet hypcloud die gesamte Finanzierungsstruktur von Eigenkapitalbeteiligungen, Mezzanine und Nachrangfinanzierungen bis zur klassischen Bankfinanzierung aus einer Hand. 

Auch im Bereich der Verbriefung tut sich einiges. So geht der Trend in der B2B-Immobilienfinanzierung zunehmend weg von bilateralen Verträgen und hin zu neuen Formen wie der Tokenisierung, was den Kreis potenzieller Kreditgeber deutlich erhöht und das Rückgrat für eine neue Marktinfrastruktur bildet. Technische Lösungen dafür existieren bereits. So können Kreditnehmer, z.B. Projektentwickler, in einfachen Schritten ihre Finanzierungsanfrage stellen und dabei sämtlichen relevanten Parteien wie Gutachtern, Architekten oder Anwälten Zugang zum gemeinsamen Datenraum gewähren, sodass alle Beteiligten stets auf Grundlage der aktuellen Daten arbeiten.

Der nächste Schritt ist nun, dass einzelne Lösungen kombiniert werden, um den Nutzern einen besseren Zugang und Mehrwert zu bieten. Aus diesem Grund arbeitet hypcloud etwa gerade an Kooperationen mit Plattformen, die Marktdaten oder Baumonitoring anbieten. Durch die Bündelung dieser Stärken und der Zusammenarbeit in der Cloud können sämtliche Aspekte in der Projektfinanzierung zentral überwacht und abgewickelt werden. Nicht zuletzt können durch die Integration von Baumonitoring Finanzierungsrisiken früher identifiziert und mithin die Finanzierungssicherheit erhöht werden. Diese cloudbasierte Zusammenarbeit spart zudem erheblich Zeit und erfüllt das Ziel der EU-Taxonomie, mehr Transparenz in Finanztransaktionen zu schaffen.

Transparenz ist aber nicht nur für die Regulierungsbehörden ein wünschenswertes Gut. Auch Marktteilnehmer profitieren davon, wenn sie bei einem Finanzierungsprozess wissen, an welcher Stelle die Prüfung einer Finanzierungsanfrage momentan steht oder hängt und wo noch Materialien oder Informationen fehlen. Die Kollaboration in der Cloud bietet großes Potenzial, um Abstimmungsprozesse zu beschleunigen oder gegebenenfalls weitere erforderliche Parteien in die Runde einzuladen. Dies führt zu einer deutlichen Erhöhung der Prozesseffizienz.

Ausblick

Während der digitale Wandel unaufhaltsam voranschreitet, gibt es in der Gegenwart noch immer zahlreiche Hürden, wie auch die jüngste ZIA-Digitalisierungsstudie belegt. So ist etwa die Heterogenität von Daten noch immer ein Problem. Aus der Studie geht aber auch hervor, dass immer mehr Unternehmen zu einer realistischen Einschätzung ihres digitalen Reifegrades gelangen. Diese Erkenntnis stimmt optimistisch, dass die Immobilienwirtschaft in der Lage ist, auch weiter digitale Lösungen mit konkretem Mehrwert zu liefern, die das Geschäft effizienter, transparenter und nachhaltiger machen.

Autor

Michael Seeberg
Geschäftsführer / Managing Director hypcloud

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.