Monitoring in the context of the EU climate targets

The EU taxonomy was set up to make the financial sector more sustainable, to steer investments into more climate-friendly assets and to EU climate targets. This also has a direct impact on the valuation of real estate. With the aim of combating climate change, green real estate is green properties are valued positively - and are ultimately more valuable more valuable than properties that do not meet the ESG criteria.

The criteria of the EU taxonomy thus have a direct impact on the monitoring and risk assessment of real estate, and the announcement of forthcoming of upcoming measures is already influencing market behaviour today. In 2021, 12.4 billion billion euros were invested in buildings certified as green buildings. Insurance companies, open-ended funds and closed-end funds already invested more than already invested more than half of their investment volume in certified green buildings.

Taxonomy + EU climate targets

When valuing real estate from a climate protection perspective, different criteria depending on the life cycle of the property.

For new buildings the primary energy demand must now be at least 10 % below the national NZEB standard (NZEB = nearly zero-energy buildings). lowest-energy buildings). For new buildings over 5,000 m2 sind zusätzlich Luftdichtigkeitstests, Wärmebrückennachweise und eine Lebenszyklusbetrachtung über den Treibhausgasausstoß erforderlich.

For refurbishment/renovation EU climate targets call for a saving of at least 30 % in relation to the primary energy demand or the fulfilment of legal requirements for comprehensive renovations and major refurbishments.

For acquisition existing real estate (built before 31.12.2020), energy efficiency class energy efficiency class A otherwise the building must be included in the group of the top 15 % in terms of primary energy demand of the national/regional building stock.

In addition for the assessment of the taxonomy eligibility, the DNSH-Principle (do no significant harm), according to which a property is only deemed to be taxonomy-compliant if it does not cause significant damage to environmental objectives For example, every new building project must take into account water and species protection. be taken into account. Adherence to the principles of the circular economy also plays an important role.

Valuation risk over time

The EU climate targets are ambitious, therefore the ESG criteria for the valuation of real estate are dynamic. With regard to CO2 emissions per square metre, a continuous increase in CO2 savings is planned until 2050. For the valuation of real estate, this means in concrete terms: a property that meets the criteria for CO2 emissions in 2022 and is therefore considered "green" may no longer meet these criteria as early as 2028. The building values, with regard to CO2 emissions, remain relatively stable, but the values for permissible CO2 emissions decrease annually. Those who do not take this into account when valuing real estate run the risk of miscalculation. As investors increasingly base their purchasing profiles on ESG compliance, properties that do not meet these criteria will be difficult to place on the market in the future. "Non-green" properties bear the risk of becoming stranded assets and therefore have a higher exit risk.

Natural hazard analysis

The risk from natural hazards is fortunately low in this country. Nevertheless, factors factors such as flooding, storms and heavy rainfall should be included in a holistic risk assessment of real estate. In order to correctly price these natural hazards, insurance insurance companies have developed tools that are based on available geological, geographic and geological, geographical and meteorological data sets for each location meteorological data sets for each location. With the tool K.A.R.L. Online of Köln Assekuranz, for example, risk classifications can be created using natural scientific principles and include them in the overall risk and include them in the overall risk assessment.

EU taxonomy and real estate valuation

The EU taxonomy has already permanently changed real estate valuation. The market has already reacted, the investor behaviour in 2021 cited above is a a clear signal and no reversal is to be expected here. In addition the dynamic ESG criteria for achieving the EU climate targets will further requirements for green real estate. For the monitoring and risk and risk assessment of real estate, these criteria must be taken into account for monitoring and risk assessment of real estate in order to arrive at correct and reliable valuations.

Author

Franz Muschler
Head of Property Analysis & Valuation Quality Assurance

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Monitoring im Zeichen der EU-Klimaziele

Die EU-Taxonomie wurde aufgesetzt, um die Finanzwirtschaft nachhaltiger zu gestalten, um Investments in klimafreundlichere Assets zu lenken und die EU-Klimaziele zu erreichen. Dies hat auch unmittelbar Auswirkung auf die Bewertung von Immobilien. Mit dem Ziel, den Klimawandel zu bekämpfen, werden grüne Immobilien positiv bewertet – und sind damit in letzter Konsequenz wertvoller als Immobilien, die den ESG-Kriterien nicht genügen.

Die Kriterien der EU-Taxonomie haben somit direkte Auswirkung auf das Monitoring und die Risikobewertung von Immobilien, außerdem beeinflusst bereits die Ankündigung kommender Maßnahmen schon heute das Marktverhalten. Im Jahr 2021 wurden 12,4 Mrd. Euro in als Green Buildings zertifizierte Gebäude investiert. Versicherungen, offene Fonds und geschlossene Fonds investierten im vergangenen Jahr bereits über die Hälfte ihres Anlagevolumens in zertifizierte Green Buildings.

Taxonomie + EU-Klimaziele

Bei der Immobilienbewertung unter Klimaschutz-Aspekten sind unterschiedliche Kriterien je nach Lebenszyklus der Immobilie zu beachten.

Bei Neubaugebäuden muss der Primärenergiebedarf jetzt mindestens 10 % unter dem nationalen NZEB-Standard liegen (NZEB = nearly zero-energy buildings, bzw. Niedrigstenergiegebäude). Für Neubaugebäude über 5.000 m2 sind zusätzlich Luftdichtigkeitstests, Wärmebrückennachweise und eine Lebenszyklusbetrachtung über den Treibhausgasausstoß erforderlich.

Bei Sanierung/Renovierung fordern die EU-Klimaziele eine Einsparung von min 30 % in Bezug auf den Primärenergiebedarf oder die Erfüllung der gesetzlichen Vorgaben für umfassende Sanierungen und größere Renovierungen.

Beim Erwerb von Bestandsimmobilien (gebaut vor dem 31.12.2020) gilt die Energieeffizienzklasse A andernfalls muss das Gebäude in die Gruppe der Top 15 % in Bezug auf den Primärenergiebedarf des nationalen/regionalen Gebäudebestands fallen.

Daneben gilt für die Beurteilung der Taxonomifähigkeit das DNSH-Prinzip (do no significant harm), nach dem eine Immobilie nur dann als taxonomiekonform gilt, wenn diese den anderen Umweltzielen keinen erheblichen Schaden zufügt. So muss beispielsweise bei jedem Neubauprojekt auf den Wasser- und Artenschutz geachtet werden. Auch die Einhaltung von Prinzipien der Kreislaufwirtschaft spielt dabei eine gewichtige Rolle.

Bewertungsrisiko im zeitlichen Verlauf

Die EU-Klimaziele sind ambitioniert, daher sind die ESG-Kriterien für die Bewertung von Immobilien dynamisch angelegt. Mit Blick auf die CO2-Emissionen pro Quadratmeter ist eine kontinuierliche Steigerung der CO2-Einsparungen bis zum Jahr 2050 vorgesehen. Für die Bewertung von Immobilien heißt das konkret: Eine Immobilie, die im Jahr 2022 die Kriterien für CO2-Emissionen erfüllt und daher als „grün“ gilt, erfüllt diese Kriterien mitunter bereits im Jahr 2028 nicht mehr. Die Gebäudewerte, mit Blick auf die CO2-Emissionen, bleiben relativ stabil, allerdings sinken die Werte für zulässige CO2-Emissionen jährlich. Wer dies bei der Bewertung von Immobilien nicht berücksichtig, läuft Gefahr einer Fehlkalkulation. Da Investoren ihre Ankaufsprofile zunehmend nach ESG-Konformität ausrichten, werden Immobilien, die diese Kriterien nicht erfüllen, künftig schwer am Markt zu platzieren sein. „Nicht-grüne“ Immobilien tragen das Risiko, zu „Stranded Assets“ zu werden und weisen daher ein höheres Exitrisiko auf.

Naturgefahrenanalyse

Das Risiko durch Naturgefahren ist hierzulande zum Glück gering. Nichtsdestotrotz gehören Faktoren wie Überschwemmung, Sturm und Starkregen in eine ganzheitliche Risikobewertung von Immobilien. Um diese Naturgefahren korrekt einpreisen zu können, haben Versicherungen Tools entwickelt, die für jeden Standort auf Grundlage verfügbarer geologischer, geographischer und meteorologischer Datensätze eine prozentuale Einstufung erlauben. Mit dem Tool K.A.R.L. Online der Köln Assekuranz zum Beispiel lassen sich Risikoeinstufungen unter Anwendung von naturwissenschaftlichen Prinzipien erstellen und in die Gesamt-Risikobewertung einbeziehen.

EU-Taxonomie und Immobilienbewertung

Die EU-Taxonomie hat die Immobilienbewertung bereits jetzt nachhaltig verändert. Der Markt hat schon reagiert, das oben zitierte Investorenverhalten in 2021 ist ein deutliches Signal und hier ist keine Umkehr zu erwarten. Zusätzlich werden die dynamischen ESG-Kriterien zur Erreichung der EU-Klimaziele die Anforderungen an grüne Immobilien weiter forcieren. Für das Monitoring und Risk Assessment von Immobilien müssen diese Kriterien unbedingt berücksichtigt werden, um zu korrekten und belastbaren Bewertungen zu gelangen.

Autor

Franz Muschler
Head of Property Analysis & Valuation Quality Assurance

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.