20180808_Neubauprojekt-Hochhaus-2-1170x780

New construction project high-rise buildings - complex construction projects in our cities

High-rise buildings are back in fashion! Stuttgart has got the exclusive residential tower Cloud No7, Frankfurt has been adorning itself with a skyline for years and continues to expand it. The highest building of the skyscraper ensemble Four, for example, is to rise up to 228 metres into the sky by the end of 2022. This will make it the third-highest high-rise building in Frankfurt after the Commerzbank Tower (259 metres) and the Messeturm (257 metres). In Berlin, the Upper West rises 119 metres into the sky alongside many other modern high-rise buildings. In Hamburg, between the Elbe bridges, as the entrance to HafenCity, such a landmark in the form of the 235-meter-high Elbe Tower is to be built by 2025. Munich is also planning to go up. Even though the cityscape of the old city may not be impaired by new buildings over 100 meters in the future, this does not apply to the rest of Munich. In the east of the city in particular (between Vogelweidplatz and Messestadt Riem) a number of high-rise projects are planned or already under construction. The Bavaria Towers are scheduled for completion by the end of the year, the tallest of them being 84 meters. Plans are also currently underway for an office building 115 metres high - this would make it the third tallest building in the city. Nevertheless, in comparison to projects from other cities, these appear rather modest and thus quite untypical for the self-conception of the Isar metropolis. These examples alone show that the demand for high-rise buildings is continuing to rise, due to the advancing urbanization and, above all, the scarcity of land in the cities, which is becoming more expensive. But what are the challenges in high-rise construction? In addition to the strict building regulations and fire protection requirements in Germany, the height of skyscrapers is also limited by regional guidelines for cityscapes. In Frankfurt, for example, there is the skyscraper framework plan, which essentially limits the construction of skyscrapers to the city's banking district and neighboring districts, thus significantly influencing the image of the city and its skyline. In Munich, building heights were oriented to the height of the Frauenkirche (100 meters) until the 1980s. In the meantime, this guideline only applies to Munich's Old Town. At the entrance gates of Munich in the north (Schwabing), west (Donnersbergbrücke/ Hirschgarten) and east (Trudering-Riem), more and more high-rise buildings have been planned and realized since the 1990s. In Hamburg, too, the traditional cityscape is the focus of the high-rise plan. The planned Elbe Tower is to remain the only skyscraper in Hamburg and, as a prominent point, will mark the entrance to the city through the newly developed HafenCity without changing the traditional city silhouette of the church towers. There are no concrete framework plans in Berlin so far, but these are to be worked out by 2019.

Safety first and foremost

In Germany, compared with Dubai (Burj Khalifa 828 metres), the Shanghai Tower (632 metres) or the United States (One World Trade Center 541 metres), we are not building "real" high-rise buildings, strictly speaking. Most of the time, the end is at 200 meters, which seems almost small by global standards. By definition, however, buildings over 22 meters are already considered high-rise buildings, which has to do with the turntable ladders used by the fire department. Up to this level, the fire brigade can fight a fire with a turntable ladder, but in addition they have to use the staircase and elevators and extinguish the fire from inside. Since escape to the outside is not possible and the building must protect both its occupants and the fire brigade, and the turntable ladder is therefore the only escape route, fire safety is one of the central issues in high-rise buildings. It has proven to be a proven solution, for example, to keep the elevator anteroom noise-free by means of overpressure, thus allowing people to evacuate in the safe core of the building.

Complexity of construction

Building a high-rise building is not that difficult, because the floors often differ only slightly in their floor plan. Of course, when planning the technical building equipment, you have to calculate precisely that water will also arrive on the 30th floor and that the elevator systems will get people to their destination comfortably and quickly. Compared with areas in Asia and America, we do not live in extreme earthquake zones, so that only a manageable amount of work is required to secure the buildings accordingly. Nevertheless, a high-rise project requires exact planning and precise site organization. This is due in part to the location, as there is often no storage space in cramped inner cities. The building material has to be lifted directly from the truck with a crane to where it will be installed. In addition - in contrast to "normal" buildings - many trades take place simultaneously. For example, while the upper floors are still filled with prefabricated concrete elements for the shell, the façade "grows" again on the lower floors. Inside the building, the first preparations are also being made for the technical building equipment. Experts in planning and execution are therefore required to prepare for this logistical challenge with a great deal of experience and organization in order to coordinate hundreds of construction workers in the most varied trades in the smallest of spaces.

Modern tools create optimization

In the meantime, innovative founders of start-ups have also seen this challenge and are trying to find solutions. The Berlin-based company Sablono, for example, has developed software that helps to map all processes and control them in an agile manner. Still others rely on the conventional use of lean management technology to optimize the construction process. This method is particularly suitable for high-rise building construction because it has a high repetition factor. Moreover, the processes generally follow the same logic and enable the parties involved to optimize the process at all times.

Quo Vadis?

The trend towards high-rise buildings will certainly continue in the coming years. The potential for the redensification of space is too high, and the urge to move into cities is too great. We will probably also see increasingly bold concepts in the coming years. So a pool on the roof terrace could soon be a standard feature and we can look forward to new and exciting ideas from planners and project developers - and that will certainly also bring new challenges in construction.

One thought on “Neubauprojekt Hochhaus – komplexe Bauvorhaben in unseren Städten

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

20180808_Neubauprojekt-Hochhaus-2-1170x780

Neubauprojekt Hochhaus – komplexe Bauvorhaben in unseren Städten

Hochhäuser sind wieder in Mode! Stuttgart hat den exklusiven Wohnturm Cloud No7 bekommen, Frankfurt schmückt sich seit Jahren mit einer Skyline und baut diese weiter aus. So soll das höchste Gebäude des Hochhaus-Ensemble Four bis Ende 2022 bis zu 228 Meter in den Himmel ragen. Damit wird er zum dritthöchsten Hochhaus in Frankfurt nach dem Commerzbank Tower (259 Meter) und dem Messeturm (257 Meter). In Berlin ragt neben vielen anderen modernen Hochhäusern das Upper West mit 119 Meter in den Himmel. In Hamburg soll zwischen den Elbbrücken, als Eingang zur HafenCity bis 2025 ein solches Aushängeschild in Form des 235 Meter hohen Elbtowers entstehen. Auch in München wird in die Höhe geplant. Auch wenn das Stadtbild der Altstadt auch in Zukunft nicht durch Neubauten über 100 Meter beeinträchtigt werden darf, gilt dies nicht für das weitere Stadtgebiet Münchens. Insbesondere im Osten der Stadt (zwischen Vogelweidplatz und Messestadt Riem) sind einige Hochhausprojekte geplant oder bereits im Bau. Bis Ende des Jahres sollen die Bavaria Towers fertiggestellt werden, der höchste Turm darunter mit 84 Meter. Aktuell laufen auch Planungen für ein Bürogebäude mit 115 Meter Höhe – dies wäre damit das dritthöchste Gebäude in der Stadt. Dennoch erscheinen diese, im Vergleich zu Projekten aus den anderen Städten, eher bescheiden und damit ganz untypisch für das Selbstverständnis der Isarmetropole. Allein diese Beispiele zeigen, dass die Nachfrage nach Hochhäusern weiter steigt, bedingt durch die voranschreitende Urbanisierung und vor allem den knapper und damit teurer werdenden Grundstücken in den Städten. Aber was sind die Herausforderungen beim Hochhausbau? Neben den engen Baurichtlinien und Brandschutzvorgaben in Deutschland ist die Höhe der Wolkenkratzer aber auch durch regionalen Richtlinien der Stadtbilder eingeschränkt. So gibt es in Frankfurt den Hochhausrahmenplan, der den Bau von Hochhäusern im Wesentlichen auf das Bankenviertel der Stadt und die angrenzenden Stadtteile begrenzt und so das Bild der Stadt und ihrer Skyline maßgeblich beeinflusst. In München orientierten sich die Gebäudehöhen bis in die 1980er Jahre an der Höhe der Frauenkirche (100 Meter). Inzwischen gilt diese Richtlinie nur noch für die Münchner Altstadt. An den Eingangstoren Münchens im Norden (Schwabing), Westen (Donnersbergbrücke/ Hirschgarten) und Osten (Trudering-Riem), werden seit den 1990er Jahren immer mehr Hochhäuser geplant und realisiert. Auch in Hamburg steht das traditionelle Stadtbild im Fokus des Hochhausplans. Der geplante Elbtower soll der einzige Wolkenkratzer in Hamburg bleiben und als markanter Punkt den Eingang in die Stadt durch die neuentwickelte HafenCity markieren, ohne die traditionelle Stadtsilhouette der Kirchtürme zu verändern. In Berlin gibt es bislang keine konkreten Rahmenpläne, diese sollen aber bis 2019 ausgearbeitet sein.

Sicherheit steht an oberster Stelle

In Deutschland bauen wir, verglichen mit Dubai (Burj Khalifa 828 Meter), dem Shanghai Tower (632 Meter) oder den Vereinigten Staaten (One World Trade Center 541 Meter) ja strenggenommen gar keine „richtigen“ Hochhäuser. Meistens ist bei 200 Meter Schluss, was im weltweiten Vergleich nahezu klein erscheint. Qua Definition gelten jedoch bereits Gebäude ab 22 Meter als Hochhäuser, was mit den Drehleitern der Feuerwehr zu tun hat. Bis zu dieser Marke kann die Feuerwehr einen Brand mit einer Drehleiter bekämpfen, darüber hinaus muss sie das Treppenhaus und die Fahrstühle benutzen und das Feuer von innen löschen. Da eine Flucht nach draußen nicht möglich ist und das Gebäude sowohl seine Bewohner als auch die Feuerwehr schützen muss und die Drehleiter also der einzige Fluchtweg ist, ist Brandschutz eines der zentralen Themen bei Hochhäusern. Bewährt hat sich zum Beispiel, dass man den Aufzugsvorraum durch einen Überdruck rauschfrei hält und somit im sicheren Gebäudekern Personen evakuieren kann.

Komplexität des Bauens

Ein Hochhaus zu bauen ist gar nicht so schwer, denn die Stockwerke unterscheiden sich oft nur geringfügig in ihrem Grundriss. Natürlich muss man bei der Planung der technischen Gebäudeausrüstung genau berechnen, dass im 30. Stockwerk auch noch Wasser ankommt und dass die Aufzugsanlagen die Personen komfortabel und schnell an ihr Ziel bringen. Verglichen mit Gebieten in Asien und Amerika leben wir nicht in extremen Erdbebengebieten, sodass hierfür lediglich ein überschaubarer Aufwand betrieben werden muss, um die Gebäude entsprechend abzusichern. Dennoch braucht es für ein Hochhausprojekt eine exakte Planung und eine präzise Baustellenorganisation. Das ist schon bedingt durch die Lage, denn oft gibt es keinen Lagerplatz in beengten Innenstädten. Das Baumaterial muss direkt vom LKW mit einem Kran dahin gehoben werden, wo es verbaut wird. Zudem finden – im Gegensatz zu „normalen“ Gebäuden – viele Gewerke gleichzeitig statt. Während in den oberen Stockwerken zum Beispiel noch Betonfertigteile für den Rohbau verbaut werden, „wächst“ die Fassade schon in den unteren Stockwerken nach. Im Inneren des Gebäudes werden zudem die ersten Vorbereitungen für die technische Gebäudeausrüstung getroffen. Es bedarf also Experten in der Planung und Ausführung, die diese logistische Herausforderung mit viel Erfahrung und Organisation vorbereiten um auf engsten Raum hunderte von Bauarbeitern in den verschiedensten Gewerken zu koordinieren.

Moderne Werkzeuge schaffen Optimierung

Diese Herausforderung haben inzwischen auch innovative Gründer von Start-ups gesehen und bemühen sich um Lösungen. Das Berliner Unternehmen Sablono zum Beispiel hat eine Software entwickelt, mit deren Hilfe alle Prozesse abgebildet und agil gesteuert werden. Wiederum andere vertrauen auf den herkömmlichen Einsatz der Lean-Management-Technik, um den Bauablauf zu optimieren. Diese Methode eignet sich insbesondere für den Hochhausbau, weil diese einen hohen Wiederholungsfaktor hat. Außerdem folgen die Prozesse ganz grundsätzlich meistens derselben Logik und ermöglicht es den Beteiligten den Prozess stets zu optimieren.

Quo Vadis?

Sicherlich wird der Trend zum Hochhaus sich auch in den nächsten Jahren fortsetzen. Zu hoch sind die Potenziale der Flächennachverdichtung, zu groß der Drang in die Städte. Wahrscheinlich werden wir auch in den nächsten Jahren immer mutigere Konzepte sehen. Ein Pool auf der Dachterrasse könnte also bald zum Standard gehören und wir können uns auf neue und spannende Ideen der Planer und Projektentwickler freuen – und das wird sicher auch neue Herausforderungen beim Bauen mit sich bringen.

One thought on “Neubauprojekt Hochhaus – komplexe Bauvorhaben in unseren Städten

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.