Warum-Baumonitoring-für-das-Risikomanagement-so-entscheidend-ist

Why construction monitoring is so crucial for risk management

Construction projects as large as medium-sized companies

Imagine 600 construction workers, 50 planners and 20 project managers coming together for four years to build a high-rise building for 250 million euros. Such volumes are comparable to the turnover of a medium-sized company - only that this company has been manufacturing similar products and has well-established processes for 30 years. By contrast, all the players involved in a construction project only work together for a relatively short time. For years now, construction projects have not only been getting bigger and more demanding, they have also become increasingly complex as a result. The building services of a modern office building today are as complex as the building services of a hospital in the 1970s. Building on a reliable data basis, construction monitoring is becoming increasingly important. Methods such as "Building Information Modeling (BIM)" in planning or the use of "Lean Construction" are inexorably on the rise. The automotive industry has already had significant experience in these areas for years and now the transformation to the digital world is imminent for the construction industry and project development. What this will look like in the future is being researched, for example, by the Fraunhofer Institute in practice-oriented research projects within the framework of the "Competence Network for SMEs 4.0". A few weeks ago, an Austrian construction company also reported that its order books were not only well filled, but full. Other construction companies, planners and architects describe a similar picture. So one could speak of a construction boom; the demand for the "concrete gold" seems to be unbroken. Well over 1,000 commercial project developments are currently being planned, designed or executed in Germany. And all of these projects require financing - in other words, best times for banks and financiers one would think.

New rules for risk management of construction projects for banks

Even if the last few years have certainly not been the worst for the property financing banks, the market and margin pressure is also becoming increasingly intense here. Construction prices are rising and available land in good locations is scarce. On top of this, there are constantly increasing requirements for risk management and the associated IT requirements of the banks by the banking supervisory authority BaFin. The ultimate goal of the new rules is to protect investors and investors. To this end, MaRisk (Minimum Requirements for Risk Management in Banks) was amended in October 2017 and next year the "Basel Committee" (keyword: principles for the effective aggregation of risk data and risk reporting in accordance with BCBS 239) will impose a whole range of additional requirements on systemically important banks and their risk management in the construction sector. Put simply, banks must then be able to identify and report the risks of their loans, such as cost increases, delays in deadlines or, in the worst case, borrower default, at the push of a button. If you now think of the complexity described at the beginning, it quickly becomes clear which task has to be mastered here.

Agile construction monitoring brings the added value

This initial situation rightly sounds very static. Regulatory requirements and masses of data suggest a very theoretical framework with little flexibility and a high level of additional expenditure without any significant advantage. But this is exactly where agile concepts offer a chance. With the advent of the above-mentioned tools "BIM" and "Lean Construction", the availability of data on construction sites and in construction offices will also change. In the meantime, you can already feel the upheaval in many projects, digitalization is becoming more and more common. It is now up to the banks and their consultants to install a modern and agile construction monitoring system as part of risk management, which meets new requirements and at the same time adapts to new methods. The tightened rules may seem pointless, but they provide an ideal basis for a comprehensive and recurring analysis of project data. In doing so, the focus of the analysis must be adapted to the current project situation. At the same time, however, the Construction Monitor must remain within the framework of the risk model. This ultimately provides an opportunity to rethink the processes of credit and risk management and to make them more efficient.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Warum-Baumonitoring-für-das-Risikomanagement-so-entscheidend-ist

Warum Baumonitoring für das Risikomanagement so entscheidend ist

Bauprojekte so groß wie mittelständische Unternehmen

Stellen Sie sich vor 600 Bauarbeiter, 50 Planer und 20 Projektmanagern kommen für vier Jahre zusammen um ein Hochhaus für 250 Millionen Euro zu errichten. Solche Volumina sind vergleichbar mit den Umsätzen eines mittelständischen Unternehmens – nur, dass dieses Unternehmen seit 30 Jahren ähnliche Produkte herstellen und eingespielte Prozesse hat. Dagegen arbeiten bei einem Bauvorhaben alle Akteure nur eine relativ kurze Zeit zusammen. Seit Jahren werden die Bauprojekte nicht nur größer und anspruchsvoller, sie werden dadurch auch immer komplexer. Die Haustechnik eines modernen Bürogebäudes ist heute so komplex wie in den 1970er Jahren die Haustechnik eines Krankenhauses. Hierbei wird das Baumonitoring aufbauend auf einer belastbaren Datengrundlage immer mehr an Gewicht bekommen. Methoden wie „Building Information Modeling (BIM)“ in der Planung oder der Einsatz von „Lean Construction“ sind unaufhaltsam im Kommen. In diesen Bereichen gibt es durch die Automobilindustrie bereits seit Jahren signifikante Erfahrung und nun steht die Transformation in die digitale Welt für die Bauwirtschaft und Projektentwicklung an. Wie das in Zukunft aussehen wird, erforscht zum Beispiel das Fraunhofer Institut in praxisnahen Forschungsprojekten im Rahmen des „Kompetenznetzwerkes Mittelstand 4.0“. Vor einigen Wochen meldete zudem ein österreichischer Baukonzern, die Auftragsbücher seien nicht nur gut gefüllt, sondern voll. Andere Baufirmen, Planer und Architekten beschreiben ein ähnliches Bild. Man könnte also von einem Bauboom sprechen; die Nachfrage nach dem „Betongold“ scheint ungebrochen. Weit über 1.000 gewerbliche Projektentwicklungen sind in Deutschland derzeit in der Projektierung, Planung oder Ausführung. Und alle dieser Projekte bedürfen einer Finanzierung – also beste Zeiten für Banken und Finanzierer sollte man meinen.

Neue Regeln für das Risikomanagement von Bauprojekten für Banken

Auch wenn die letzten Jahre für die immobilienfinanzierenden Banken sicherlich nicht die schlechtesten waren, verschärft sich auch hier der Markt- und Margendruck zusehends. Baupreise steigen und verfügbare Grundstücke in guten Lagen sind knapp. Dazu kommen stetig steigende Anforderungen an das Risikomanagement und damit verbunden an die IT der Banken durch die Bankenaufsicht BaFin. Ziel der neuen Regeln ist letztendlich der Schutz der Anleger und Investoren. Hierzu wurde im Oktober 2017 die MaRisk (Mindestanforderungen an das Risikomanagement von Banken) angepasst und nächstes Jahr wird durch das „Baseler Komitee“ (Stichwort: Grundsätze für die effektive Aggregation von Risikodaten und die Risikoberichterstattung gemäß BCBS 239) eine ganze Reihe weiterer Anforderungen an die systemrelevanten Banken und Ihr Risikomanagement im Bereich Bau gestellt. Vereinfacht gesagt müssen Banken dann die Risiken ihrer Kredite, wie Kostenerhöhungen, Terminverzug oder im schlimmsten Fall einen Ausfall des Kreditnehmers, auf Knopfdruck erkennen und anzeigen können. Wenn Sie nun an die eingangs beschriebene Komplexität denken wird schnell klar, welche Aufgabe es hier zu bewältigen gilt.

Ein agiles Baumonitoring bringt den Mehrwert

Diese Ausgangslage hört sich zu Recht sehr statisch an. Regulatorische Vorgaben und massenhaft Daten lassen ein sehr theoretisches Gerüst mit wenig Flexibilität und einen hohen Mehraufwand ohne einen nennenswerten Vorteil vermuten. Aber genau an dieser Stelle bieten agile Konzepte eine Chance. Mit dem Einzug der oben genannten Werkzeuge „BIM“ und „Lean Construction“ wird sich auch die Verfügbarkeit an Daten auf den Baustellen und in den Baubüros ändern. Man kann inzwischen auch bereits den Umbruch bei vielen Projekten spüren, die Digitalisierung hält mehr und mehr Einzug. Es ist nun die Aufgabe der Banken und deren Beratern, ein modernes und agiles Baumonitoring als Teil des Risikomanagements zu installieren, welches neue Vorgaben erfüllt und sich gleichzeitig an neuen Methoden anpasst. Die verschärften Regeln mögen müßig wirken, geben aber eine ideale Basis für eine umfassende und wiederkehrende Analyse der Projektdaten. Dabei müssen die Analyseschwerpunkte situativ an die aktuellen Projektgeschehnisse angepasst werden. Gleichzeitig muss der Baumonitor sich aber innerhalb der Rahmenbedingungen des Risikomodells bewegen. Daraus ergibt sich letztendlich die Chance, die Prozesse der Kredit- und Risikobearbeitung zu überdenken und effizienter zu gestalten.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.